BIG News Day!

Where to start.

First up, some long awaited news. 18 stores have either been bought or still being sought. That is just with the news from this afternoon. I’m aware of at least 4 stores being bought, which was known right when the announcement was made about Dominick’s being up for sale.

Today, there were two big articles bunched into one LONG update. Roundy’s, the parent of Mariano’s, has bought 11 of the stores throughout the city and suburbs, while Whole Foods is eyeing 7 stores. As far as the employees at those 18 stores, their future remains to be seen. Roundy’s is having the employees re-apply for their jobs. HOWEVER, they will not get priority over other applicants.

What this all sounds like: Jewel is willing to make sure everyone keeps their jobs, while Mariano’s isn’t promising anything. I don’t know if that is pure coincidence as both of them are union (as is Dominick’s) or what. Anyone have any insight on this? Comment below!

In Odd news, Paul Walker (Fast and the Furious) died in a fiery car accident. Nobody wanted to believe it when they first heard, since the news was called a hoax at first, and then later changed.

FYI, as soon as I get it confirmed by store management, I will post here who bought my location. I thought it wasn’t true what I had heard at the start of the Thanksgiving weekend I’ve heard confirmation from a few sources at work, but waiting for upper management to pull us in and confirm what we already know. My store has been bought, but it is not any of the big names, which is probably why we haven’t been shown on the news since the initial announcement. Details to come.

About retaildjstudent

I am unemployed, graduating from Columbia College with a degree in Radio and concentration in Social Media.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment